Tuesday, 27 December 2011

International Court Of Justice

Peace Palace, The Hague

ICJ or International Court Of Justice is located at the peace palace The Hague of Netherlands. But the urgent meeting can hold anywhere else. International Court of Justice was created by an international treaty, the statue of the court, which forms an integral part of the United Nations Charter. All members of the U.N.O are parties to the statue of the court.
There is 15 judges elected by the General Assembly and Security Council of United Nations. And there will not be 2 judges from same country. Term of a judge is 9 years and they are able to reelection. The President and Vice-President are elected by General Assembly on the basis of Security Council nomination for the period of 3 year. The court continues permanently in session. All questions are decided by majority. The languages used in the court are English or French. ICJ where established in 1945, the Court began work in 1946 as the successor to the Permanent Court of International Justice.

Current Judges
Hisashi Owada of Japan is  the President and
Peter Tomka of  Slovakia is the Vice-President
Other members are
  1. Abdul G. Koroma of Sierra Leone
  2. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh of Jordan
  3. Bruno Simma of Germany
  4. Ronny Abraham of France
  5. Sir Kenneth Keith of New Zealand
  6. Bernardo Sepúlveda Amor of Mexico
  7. Mohamed Bennouna  of Morocco
  8. Leonid Skotnikov of Russia
  9. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade of Brazil
  10. Abdulqawi Yusuf of Somalia
  11. Sir Christopher John Greenwood of United Kingdom
  12. Xue Hanqin of China
  13. Joan Donoghue of United States
Functions Of ICJ
It gives the legal advice to the agencies and councils when they demand it. Also the problems presented by countries are solved by ICJ. 

Emblem of ICJ


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Team - Premium Blogger Themes | facebook, Car Price in India