Tuesday, 27 December 2011

Economic And Social Council

The Economic And Social Council is also called as ECOSOC (ECO-Economic,SO-Social and C-Council)
It is a 54 members council selected by 2/3 majority system of General Assembly. It is responsible for carrying out the functions of the United Nations with regards to international economics, social, cultural, educational, health and related matters. The members term is up to three year.Seats on the Council are based on geographical representation with
  1. 14 allocated to African states
  2. 11 to Asian states
  3. 6 to East European states
  4. 10 to Latin American and Caribbean states 
  5. 13 to West European and other states.
ECOSOC holds a four-week session each year in July. Since 1998, it has also held a meeting each April with finance ministers heading key committees of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The ECOSOC serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues, and for formulating policy recommendations addressed to member states and the United Nations system.

Under the council there is 5 regional counciles
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (ECE) - Geneva, Switzerland
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) - Addis Ababa, Ethiopia 
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) - Santiago, Chile
  • United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) - Bangkok, Thailand
  • United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) - Amman, Jordan


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Team - Premium Blogger Themes | facebook, Car Price in India