Tuesday, 27 December 2011


The Secretariat of United nations consist of Secretariat members and a head Secretary General who leads the whole United Nations Organisation. The Secretary General is elected by General Assembly on the basis of Security Council nomination. The period of Secretary General is 5 years and can be reelected. International staffs are appointed by Secretary General under the regulation established by General Assembly. The high commissioner for refugees and the managing director of the fund  and theSecretary General are appointed by the General Assembly. There is almost 44000 international civil members responsible to work for U.N, and U.N gives the salary to them. The day to day working of U.N is controlled by Secretariat.The duties carried out by the Secretariat are as varied as the problems dealt with by the United Nations. These range from administering peacekeeping operations to mediating international disputes, from surveying economic and social trends and problems to preparing studies on human rights and sustainable development.
Structure of Secretariat 
 The headquarters of  Secretariat is at U.N plaza New York. The United Nations, while headquartered in New York, maintains a significant presence in Addis Ababa, Bangkok, Beirut, Geneva, Nairobi, Santiago and Vienna, and has offices all over the world.
From 2007 Ban Ki Moon of South Korea is the Secretary General of the United Nations Organisation
Ban Ki Moon 
  1. Trygve Lie (Norway) - Term of Office: 1946-1952 
  2. Dag Hammarskjöld (Sweden) - Term of Office: 1953-1961
  3. U Thant (Myanmar) - Term of Office: 1961-1971 
  4. Kurt Waldheim (Austria) - Term of Office: 1972-1981 
  5. Javier Perez de Cuellar (Peru) - Term of Office: 1982-1991
  6. Boutros Boutros-Ghali (Egypt) - Term of Office: 1992-1996
  7. Kofi A. Annan (Ghana) - Term of Office: 1997-2006


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Team - Premium Blogger Themes | facebook, Car Price in India