Monday, 26 December 2011

Security Council

The U.N Security Council consist of 15 members in which 5 are permanent. Each member has 1 vote. The 10 non permanent members are elected for the period of 2 year by the 2/3 majority of General Assembly. The permanent member has the power to vote any move. The retiring members are not eligible for immediate re-election.  Presidency of Security Council is held for 1 month in rotation by the member in English alphabet of their names.
Permanent Members of Security Council
The permanent members has the power of vote for or against a move. That vote will depend the acceptance of the move. That power is called veto power of permanent member. The permanent members and their representatives are
  1. China  - Li Baodong
  2. France - Gérard Araud
  3. Russia - Vitaly Churkin
  4. UK - Sir Mark Lyall Grant
  5. USA - Susan Rice   
Non-Permanent Members of Security Council
The Non-permanent members changes in every 2 year. Also there is reservation for the seats in council on the basis of region.
  1. Afro-Asian countries-5 seats
  2. Latin American countries-2 seats
  3. Western Europe countries-2 seats
  4. Eastern Europe countries-1 seats
Now 2 set of non-permanent members are there. One from 1st January 2010 to 31st December 2011 and 1st January 2011 – 31st December 2012.
The members and representatives from 1st January 2010 to 31st December 2011 are
  1. Bosnia and Herzegovina - Ivan Barbalić
  2. Brazil - Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti
  3. Gabon - Emmanuel Issoze-Ngondet
  4. Lebanon - Nawaf Salam
  5. Nigeria - Joy Ogwu
From 1st January 2011 to 31st December 2012 are
  1. Colombia - Néstor Osorio Londoño
  2. Germany - Peter Wittig
  3. India - Hardeep Singh Puri
  4. Portugal - José Filipe Moraes Cabral
  5. South Africa - Baso Sangqu
 On the basis of reservation
  1. Afro-Asian  :-Gabon, Lebanon, Nigeria, India and South Africa
  2. Latin American:-Brazil  and Colombia
  3. Western Europe  :-Germany and Portugal 
  4. Eastern Europe  :-Bosnia and Herzegovina
The Functions of Security Council
The main function is to protect international peace and security. To create peace full atmosphere the council can interfere by discussion or by force full movement.The suspension and dis mission of member is nominated by security council. The electing of judges of the international court is one of the function of security council. The important matter is that a vote of permanent member (veto power) is able to reject a decision even the 14 other members where in opposite side. So that if a permanent member reject a decision, it treated as the security council rejected the decision. But some of the decision which can't rejected by veto are can be passed by 2/3 majority.
 The expansion of security council to include the "New Powers" such as India, Germany and Japan as permanent members has been suggested by various fora. 


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Team - Premium Blogger Themes | facebook, Car Price in India